Calm in the Storm

Have you ever had a moment where things threatened your very sanity? Where your world felt like crumbling or as if it was being torn apart? Where you felt as though all odds were against you and whatever could go wrong was going wrong?

Today seemed like one of those days for me. It started with my Whatsapp messenger expiring and running out of internet bundles plus airtime (did I mention that the Bonga points ran out and I had an outstanding Okoa jahazi debt! Talk of an all-time low). I have enough people I follow up on so I needed it to be working.

I decide that I desperately needed my prayer life to improve so a 3-day fast was going to be perfect, and I started immediately. It all started beautifully and I enjoyed it until I got the text saying I’d been blacklisted by the Credit Reference Bureau but if I paid by 6pm I’d be cleared. I text my friend for whom I’d gotten that loan, hoping he’d be moved to pay by evening.

I went to wash dishes while enjoying music; still in perfect peace. Somewhere along my cleaning session, peace became evasive. By midday, I was back in bed trying to read the bible and get serious with the fast. You probably figured by now how that didn’t end well; I fell asleep and didn’t leave bed until almost 5pm. I felt like I was cheating myself and God since all my dreams during that time were about food, breaking my fast and struggles from my past.

I broke the fast for good, then realised that there was a blackout and my phone was low on charge. I badly needed to leave the house but most of my friends aren’t around.
6pm came and my blacklisting was sealed. I should have panicked, broke down or even tried screaming but I had some peace that wouldn’t leave. It didn’t make sense.

I came to bed at almost 1am and broke down because too many things weren’t right. I needed God to speak or just stretch His arm and hold me tight. The tears didn’t last long, I came across a message from Him that simply cleared everything.

There’s a quote that says: “God may not calm the storm but He’ll calm His child in the midst of the storm.”
May He give you His peace that passes all understanding in the middle of whatever you’re going through; there’s no storm He can’t handle.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16.33

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be
troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14.27

Leave a Reply

