Do Not be Anxious

About 2 days ago, our army was attacked by terrorists and quite a number of soldiers died. I usually have a soft spot for men and women in service but this time round, my first instinct would have been to panic wondering if my ex was among those wounded or killed.

I deleted his number but somewhere at the back of my mind, I could easily retrieve it. I wanted to quickly call and confirm that he was okay, until God intervened and stopped me. I would have argued it out with God trying to convince Him that it would be a brief call just to be sure he’s safe and I’d never call again. That would have been totally futile because God gave me a firm ‘No’. Just like a parent would say No to a demand by a toddler to get ice cream while it was raining, not because he wanted to deny the child the pleasure they’d derive from it but for the child’s good because it would expose the child to sickness. So I knew God was looking out for my own good.

Today, while still playing with the idea to call or text, God taught me a beautiful lesson. When He asked me to separate from my ex, it was separation for good. God knew this attack would happen, even before we broke up and when He asked me to leave, it wasn’t separation until the attack triggered a reunion of sorts but total separation.

I learnt that despite caring for him, he is better off under God’s care than mine. My care would lead to resurrection of soul ties and mistakes would follow but God’s care leads to his constant protection and an improved life that I can’t give him.

So whether he’s alive or wounded or not, calling would not change the situation, the best I can do is not to be anxious but leave everything to God (Philippians 4:6-7)

If you find yourself in a situation where you’re worried about someone or something, remember that, you trying to control the situation won’t help. Relax, stop being anxious and surrender it to God.

Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the centre of your life. (The Message Bible)

Leave a Reply

