Love is…

February is the month of love and myriads of people go out searching for or hoping to be found by love. I thought this was going to be a good time for me to drown deeper in Love Himself and I’d challenged my bible study family to do the same. However, after my open heart surgery earlier today, I’ve realised I’m the one who needs to learn what love is and since I was shown how selfish I am, I now choose to give love and not sit back and expect it as though the world owes me.

First and foremost, I need to start with the real definition of love and what better place to find it than in 1 Corinthians 13. Here’s how love is described:

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance. (1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NLT)

That’s a pretty heavy checklist and if weighed against it, I’d be found wanting on practically the entire list! I haven’t exactly been the most patient person and I doubt that kind part, oh I’ve had my fair share of jealousy and let’s not even talk about pride. I demand my way in everything and fuss when I don’t get my way. I struggled a lot with the irritability part because I get quite irritable several times. I forgive but somehow have a mind that records all wrongs.

Therefore, starting today, I’m going to be very intentional about loving people. I have asked God to teach me how to do that in reality.

My challenge this starting week is not to focus on myself or talk about myself unless someone asks. I will listen to people, really get to hear their issues and try helping. Most of all, I will seek to go out of my way and love them genuinely. I’ll definitely need an accountability partner for this.

How about you? Think you can try love people a little more this month? Try it out!

Leave a Reply

