When Nothing (No one) Satisfies

Lately I’ve been grappling with feelings of being alone and lonely. There are times I’d be surrounded by people but still feel completely alone. This time it’s different, I am in actuality, alone.

I figured I’d do a post on how to be alone yet not be lonely. I was certain that’s where the solution lies; until a few minutes ago when I heard a song on radio that changed how I saw this whole situation.

I was busy lamenting to God about how I have no one who truly gets me; none who’s really there for me. I don’t think I have a support system or a guaranteed shoulder to lean on. Those who offer are either the ones I was separated from or the ones I know will listen but have enough other issues of their own so mine won’t get the priority I require now or they don’t comprehend me and this life of mine. In short, I’m on my own.

I recall telling God how if He’s behind this, then one of us has to do something urgently, in order for me to experience His love and friendship better. If He’s to be my satisfaction then I need to start seeing that manifesting.

That’s when the song came in and the message was clear: “You take me to the place where I know I need You, straight to the depths that I can’t handle on my own (it’s way beyond me)…”

Which means this entire thing is simply a sign that He’s given me far more than I can handle, just so that I constantly require Him; He’s made Himself indispensable! (Wise move right there)

Israel Houghton sums it up nicely in this line in one of his songs:
“Nothing in this world would satisfy, Jesus you’re the cup that won’t run dry…”

That just explains all the struggles we go through at times while seeking to belong or finding satisfaction in various things or people but never really getting what we need. It’s God’s way of saying that He’s the only One who can complete you and satiate your desires.

Leave a Reply

