Wounds of a Friend

This is a dedication to a friend who was bold enough to tell me things I neither wanted to hear nor pay attention to. A friend who’s made me remember the value of the piercing truth…

I have had my fair share of good friends over the years who I realised loved me more than they loved our friendship. They were willing to risk tantrums thrown by me or words I’d throw back in defence or even being avoided/unfriended because they knew I needed to hear the truth.

You see, I am pretty used to being the one giving everyone advice and dispensing the painful truth when required; but rarely am I on the receiving end.

So on Friday when my friend unceremoniously declared that he wanted to have a serious talk with me in the evening, I wasn’t sure what sort of lecture to expect. I couldn’t think of anything to warrant that lecture; the post on my ex that I’d just given him to read, didn’t sound like a good enough catalyst because it had been written 2 years ago.

Finally evening came and he told me quite a number of things, most of which you can be sure I didn’t like or I plainly disagreed with. However, all that sent my thoughts spiralling. It got me to see things that I’d missed through the years. They weren’t easy facts but I needed them.

That incident made me realise how precious friends like that are. It also reminded me of the proverb that says, ” Wounds from a sincere friend are better than many kisses from an enemy.” (Proverbs 27:6)

I guess this is my way of saying thank you for being real and treading on waters most people don’t dare venture into; I haven’t exactly been the easiest person to correct, so I get impressed when someone dares to somehow do that.

Leave a Reply

