Who exactly is Lord over you?

Like every other Christian, we’ll gladly mention how we love God and that Christ is Lord over our lives. We will sing songs about how we are fully surrendered to Jesus… but is that really the case?

Reality is that our words don’t match our actions. This week God was showing me how I was stubborn and disobedient. I consider myself a pretty good Christian since I spend time with God daily, He speaks to me, teaches me, pampers me and all that Father-daughter stuff. If He told me this a few years ago, I’d easily agree because I was seriously strong headed. After a lot of breaking and being moulded, I would think we’ve never been better with God.

He started revealing how He’d ask me to do things like waking up early to seek Him but I’d start rationalizing how that wouldn’t work because of various inconveniences. He’d tell me to fast and I’d argue most times how school was busy so what would be the point of fasting if I wouldn’t get a place to pray or the time? I’ve had countless moments of what I used to refer to as ‘negotiating’ with God. Which is just a fancy way of enforcing my way by trying to get God to see my point of view.

Now let’s get to you; you see that person who for some reason you say you can’t stand or simply don’t like… or the time you knew you needed to do something God had led you to do but have good excuses… or the person who you have a good reason why they don’t deserve your forgiveness… the list is endless.

The truth is that, Jesus isn’t really Lord in our lives. We like hanging out with Him, enjoy being loved on, are excited about the lessons we learn and the joy of being a Christian but we keep Him right beside the Throne of our hearts as we’re busy controlling every single detail of our lives. A Lord is someone with full control over you; they decide what you do, how you do and when you do. When they say jump, you don’t argue but ask how high as you already begin doing so. Our advantage is that Christ is a loving Lord but He’s still a Lord in the very sense of that word.

Check your heart today, ask yourself questions as you request the Holy Spirit to show you the absolute truth. Then choose to sincerely surrender to Jesus; do it daily, do it willingly.

Lotsa love from me to you!

Leave a Reply

