Giants

Have you ever stood in front of a huge giant and felt extremely intimidated? You feel quite small and fear creeps in… that’s exactly what I’m staring at right now.

In this day and age, we probably never meet any person who’s a real giant but we have our own version. Situations or things that are so enormous that they intimidate us. Looking at them, you feel temporarily frozen and are not sure how to proceed; you feel helpless.

The worst giants are those that speak to you. They remind you how you’ve failed, how this has happened before and it will recur. They tell you you’re not good enough and can’t do a thing. They show you how hopeless it is.

These giants could be small things that gather up to taunt you all at once. It could be the thing you haven’t been able to do, the academic issues, the skin problems, the weight that isn’t going away, the work that’s piled up until it feels overwhelming, the broken relationship, attacks on your reputation, your struggle to live life right by God and a million other giants.

There’s a song by Casting Crowns that says:
“The giant’s calling out my name and he laughs at me, reminding me of all the times I tried before and failed. The giant keeps on telling me, time and time again, boy you’ll never win…”
Ain’t that the reality! But I love what comes right after that, speaking to the giant and saying how the voice of truth tells you a different story; the voice of truth says do not be afraid, the voice of truth says this is for my glory. Out of all the voices calling out to me, I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth.

So yes giants will keep intimidating you but remember that greater is He that is in you than he who is in the world (1 John 4:4). He tells you:
Don’t be afraid, because I am with you. Don’t be intimidated; I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. I will support you with my victorious right hand.
Isaiah 41:10 (GOD’S WORD Translation)

Leave a Reply

