Stepping Into The Unfamiliar

​It’s the 1st day of this year, while people are busy celebrating with friends, family or lovers/spouses; I’m lying down on my sofa (park bench is more like it). This is the first time I have spent both new year’s eve and the start of the new year alone in a house.
It was inescapable since I had to move into another house yesterday. So I spent new year’s eve packing, moving and unpacking. The new year found me in bed on a candlelit night since the lights in this house had been temporarily disconnected while waiting for someone to move in. 
Let’s just say things haven’t been the usual, this time round. By now I’d have had resolutions written down, have verses for the year selected as the Holy Spirit led (began this last year) and would have had plenty of reflection time. Well so far, this post is the only writing I’ve done, if you don’t count the Facebook posts and texts, Lol. I haven’t had any quiet time with God since I’ve been plunging myself into social media. This feels like a symptom of escapism. I’m not even sure what I’m running away from. 
Indeed this year has plenty of uncertainties, a million and ten of them. I’ve started the year in an unfamiliar place with no idea where I’ll be by the end of the year. I have no clue what trajectory my life will take this year. I know I’ll be working in an office for 6 months, after that, I have no idea what I plan to do. I’m not even sure of the kind of job I’d want; which is strange because by the end of the year I’ll probably have been sworn in as an advocate. I’d want to venture more into arts and do more of entrepreneurship merged with social work but I’m also interested in the legal practitioner I’m becoming. See my predicament?
All the above is kinda weird considering how good I am at making plans (and probably equally good at not sticking to several of them till the end, Lol). I want to snap out of this and do some rough plan at least but I feel like I’m in limbo. 
In everything, one thing that’s been clutching onto my soul is that God is in charge this year. That not knowing the way or destination is okay because I’m walking with the One who knows. I have this deep feeling that this year will be filled with adventure. Unfamiliar territories become a delight when you are certain that you’re being led even when you can’t see it. Most of all, I’ll be going through the year with Emmanuel; my God who’s with me. The Ebenezer of 2016 who brought me this far is still Lord over 2017. My Good Shepherd constantly leads me and works everything for my good and to His glory.
So here’s to an extraordinary, adventure filled, beautiful and exciting year ahead. Here’s to the growth we’ll experience and the people we’ll become! Happy New year to each of you. 

Lots and lots of love from me to you!

4 thoughts on “Stepping Into The Unfamiliar

  1. Pingback: Seeing it | Diary of A Loved Black Woman

Leave a Reply

