The Valentine’s Post

It’s Valentine’s so of course I was going to write (chuckles). I’m in a really good mood, that’s if you haven’t noticed the giggles. You should see me smiling uncontrollably. And no, I’m not on a date or reading some sweet sentimental text or eating chocolates I was sent. I’m just in an unexplainably happy mood.

See today was a pretty normal day for me. I had things at work that I couldn’t wait to finish because they were too much pressure. I didn’t even buy takeout for lunch, I ate the most plain homemade food. In between all that, I was dealing with some health issue.

Perhaps it’s because I’ve been planning to wake up earlier for some time but never succeeded until today. Maybe the session I had pouring my heart before God last night worked wonders. Probably it’s all the laughing I was doing my entire ride home; genuine laughter that made me tear up (I’m sure people around me in the bus were wondering what was wrong with me. Perchance they didn’t notice or couldn’t care less). 

I have a theory that trumps all the above: maybe it’s because I’m loved. Insanely and unconditionally loved. This is probably the first Valentine’s where I’m this secure in love. No guy hovering around getting me excited and no vacuum or loneliness. Simply secure in the thought that I’m deeply loved and that it’s not a concept in my head. It’s been proven over and over again in the recent past.

It would be easy to become indifferent and dismiss this as an overly commercialized day (which it actually is). However, I refuse to allow my heart to harden. In fact, just for kicks, I did something I’d chastise you for if you tried the same: watched a lovely Hallmark movie while in the office.

No, I wasn’t sitting there reminiscing or thinking of how I missed being in a relationship. Neither was I there feeling lonely and sad. I enjoyed the movie thoroughly for what it was: a beautiful love story, the way Hollywood perceives it. 

A friend challenged me today to do something different and step out of the norm even for 5 minutes. Well, I’m still thinking of what to do but aware that today, I’ve done several things that made me happy. I’m grateful that he helped me snap out of my indifference.

So now, I’ll go back to savouring the little salon escapade I’m having since I decided to take my hair out for a special treat. I’m doing this because when my hair feels good, I feel spectacular and I’m all about feeling all sorts of special today (and the rest of the year). 

A very Happy Valentine’s to each of you! Passing my love to you today.

2 thoughts on “The Valentine’s Post

Leave a Reply

