Trust That Let’s Go

Cut God some slack and just trust Him. No, not the trust we say in words but really truly allowing Him to take charge. The kind of trust that leaves things in God’s hands and doesn’t go back to keep taking them back while trying to find options. Simply purely letting God do whatever He pleases with the situation.

You see, the idea of leaving God in charge, for most of us translates to several things, none of which sounds exciting. It usually feels like the outcome will not be as expected because we’ve heard several stories of people who trusted God, and Oh inasmuch as things didn’t turn out as expected, they thank God because He was teaching them something. A good example would be with regards to marriage, where trusting God for a partner, leaves us cringing because somehow, the person God would bring would look nothing like you expected but apparently He was teaching you how not to judge by outward appearance. Y’all know these stories.

Trusting God has been equated with giving up all your desires and expecting whatever God will bring, which mostly is lousier than we wanted, but Oh well, ain’t God good all the time? When did we start believing the lie that God is a mean-ish guy who is opposed to our desires and will give us only what He deems better for us especially if it’s something a little disappointing? So yes, our desires can be flimsy at times and even selfish, but don’t we trust that God is able to help us align our desires rightly? Doesn’t the Bible tell us to delight in the LORD and He will give us the desires of our hearts?

We need to remember that God is a super loving God and the most wonderful Father. He does love us and wants the best for us. Many of the desires His children have (if you’re walking with Him), are usually placed in us by Him. Isn’t He the One who created us as we are?

I was reminded of this a few minutes ago as I went to wash my dish after lunch. It dawned on me just how much I love my work place. It has such a homely feel, and not merely because it’s in an estate with a house set-up. I love how my boss decided lunch is to be taken together on a table set at the back. I love how I feel very relaxed while here. I love that I got an office upstairs away from my colleagues (not that I am running away from them). I really like how my boss teaches me as a father does; he trains properly! I like my colleagues and how we work. I actually have come to love weekdays here more than weekends (and yes, I still have a life).

You know the funniest thing is that God picked this place for me; I had no idea it existed and had absolutely no plans to work here. Somehow God turned things around. I showed up not knowing if I was going for an appointment or interview. It happened to be an interview that felt nothing like your normal interview. Before I could process what was going on, I was told I had a job. Since then, I find myself falling in love with this place with each passing day.

So you see, God actually understands us better than we know ourselves. He knows everything we like and loves seeing us excited about these things. Instead of trying to hold tightly to the plans you have, learn something about surrendering those plans and committing things to God. Trust Him and watch the unfolding of a beautiful story.

2 thoughts on “Trust That Let’s Go

Leave a Reply

