The Whirlwind… Part 1

The past weekend was a whirlwind of activity and emotions! I am not even sure I have recovered… and by weekend I mean some 24 hours or so of it. All I’d expected was a road trip out of town as we went for a thanksgiving party for my friend, Missy, who just got admitted to the Bar.

For most of the journey heading there, we were engrossed in conversation and laughter. Managed to get some time to talk with God. Had this feeling which gave me chills about us crashing and kept seeing all the ways we’d possibly get into that accident.

Then my fears came true; well not for us though but a vehicle that rammed straight into a truck right next to us. I remember that bang so clearly and the way my heart almost stopped. Rushing out of our car to go check on the people who were there. Panic mode. Praying with some ladies who were in shock and crying. Trying to see how we could help. Seeing a guy I was sure would not make it out with his lower limbs, being taken out with his legs intact.

We had to leave soon after because we were very late for the event and we had the girl everyone was waiting for. I was left feeling a bit confused: wanting to absorb what just occurred but distracted by the urgency of our getting to the destination. Car we were in stalled just before we got to Missy’s home. Another one came for us and the celebrations began.

There was too much to soak in at that event. The importance of family and community. The centrality of God and prayer. The beauty of our life journeys. After speeches that had me meditating on so much, we found ourselves distracted by selfies and photo shoots.

Three of us girls retreated to Missy’s room. In between girl talk and being on phone chatting, my dad called. Then casually, Miss Kay asks if I know a certain guy she’s chatting with. I smile and can’t believe it. I tell her to say hi and figure he should break the news to her. He does. She’s baffled to say the least. Just then I remember my dad mentioned he was in the kitchen with a certain guy as he called me: the guy is her ex! So here she was chatting with my ex, M, while I’d been on phone with my dad who was cooking late lunch with her ex. I mean, how weird can life get!!!

That evening had us do plenty of reminiscing and discussing stories about us and guys who’d featured in our lives. I was really glad to have gotten M’s number because I owed him an apology and had been looking for him for months.

Leave a Reply

